openflightmaps support

Discussion regarding feeding FlightAssistant with maps and aviation data
Post Reply
flyingsaucer
Posts: 16
Joined: 25 Sep 2017, 18:58
Flying activity: Plane

openflightmaps support

Post by flyingsaucer » 29 Dec 2017, 13:49

Hello,

I am struggling to switch to the maps provided by ofm. When using the computer-web interface, my subscription page only shows maps I will have to pay for. On my notepad inside FA2, the "overlay" page on the cockpit shows "vector maps style" on top of the "maps" tabulator. (I remember that I once had a heading "maps" at one time, but I reinstalled FA2, now this heading is gone.)

I also tried to manually download the mbtiles-file from ofm and move it to the flightassistant/maps directory, but this does not help.

As the docu is outdated (FA1), could you please provide me with a step by step instruction on howto install the ofm-maps?

I do have the ultimate subscription, using v2.7.3 r858

Thanks a lot!

Nick

jmcazaux
Site Admin
Posts: 1606
Joined: 28 Sep 2011, 20:20
Device(s): Motorola X Play / Nexus 9
Flying activity: Plane
Machines: DR400, C172, C182
Location: LFMT / Montpellier

Re: openflightmaps support

Post by jmcazaux » 29 Dec 2017, 20:14

Hi Nick,

unfortunately, I am away from my desk for a few days, but from the top of my head :
- download the MBTiles from the OFM website;
- copy the *.mbtiles file you obtained into your mobile device in /sdcard/flightassistantNG/maps (the first term may vary based on your device and OS flavor)
- launch FA
- go to "My Account / Manage user map", you should see your map
- go back to the homa page of FA
- go to the cockpit
- on the moving map page, bring the "layers" panel.
- you now should see your map and should be able to activate it (maps tab).

Please do not hesitate to come back to us here if you are stuck.

Hope this helps,
JM
Jean-Michel
LFMT / Motorola XPlay & Nexus 9 2015

flyingsaucer
Posts: 16
Joined: 25 Sep 2017, 18:58
Flying activity: Plane

Re: openflightmaps support

Post by flyingsaucer » 30 Dec 2017, 11:40

Dear Jean-Michel,

blame on me! I did not distinguish between "My Account"-name and the "Settings"-symbol jst next to it. When pressing in the middle with my thick finger I always entered the "Settings", which obviously did not have the "Manage user maps" menu.

So it works!

Thanks again,
Nick

Post Reply